BLUE OCTOBER at The Altar Bar, May 14, 2014 by guest contributor Mark Iman

Posted: May 24, 2014 in Band, Concerts, Entertainment, music, Review, Tour
Tags: , , , ,

BO

BLUE OCTOBER

The ALTAR BAR 5-14-14  PITTSBURGH, PA

by Guest Contributor Mark Iman, MarkImanConcertReview.blogspot.com

Sway the seventh studio album from the Texas based band Blue October, which started out as a crowd funded project via PledgeMusic, raised over two hundred percent of their goal over the course of the campaign. Truly showing that, the fans really do make the band. Since the first time I saw them in New York, I have had the pleasure of following Blue October for the last three years. In that time I have gone from learning their music, to becoming friends with some of the most amazing people, and interacting with members of the band. It didn’t take long to see why WE consider each other family and not just fans. The same faces can be seen at multiple shows on any given leg of a tour.  Fans have been known to carpool, camp out, and stay with fellow members of the Blue October Community. Lining up as early as 7a.m. (I know for a fact because I was with them on several occasions) just to make sure they can secure the prime spot, right against the rail.  And why wouldn’t you want it? Being able to see the range of emotion work its way across lead vocalist Justin Furstenfelds face, or the way Ryan Delahoussaye gets lost in the sound of his violin while he plays adds to the excitement of being at a concert. The personal connection that everyone wants to have with the musicians they look up to, respect, and possibly even worship or in the case of Blue October, that sense of needing to be close in the hopes that what little eye contact is made can say “Thank you for helping me through whatever life troubles your music/lyrics have helped me survive. “

Mental illness and addiction has been no stranger to the band. Justin has been very open about his life experiences throughout his career and his music. Even going so far as to do a solo tour titled The Open Book Tour, in support of the 3rd edition of his book Crazy Makings. A question and answer acoustic style set with readings from different chapters of the book. Giving insight into the mind of this once tortured soul.  Which is why going into the making of Sway it was agreed that this album would not be about “How sad Justin is” and proving that with the birth of his second daughter and his marriage to his lovely wife Sarah, Justin has laid to rest his demons and is focused on being the best father he knows he can be, as well as a true brother, friend, and leader for his bandmates.  This has strengthened the bond the band has held, although loosely at times, and has seen the return of C.B. Hudson on lead guitar who left the band in 2010 to build a recording studio in Texas.(Completed this year with a grand opening at SXSW with bandmate Matt Noveskey named Orb Studios)

bc3

I had the pleasure to cover the show at The Altar Bar in Pittsburgh on the 15th of May. Doing a little research before the show I learned the Altar Bar was once a small church in the strip district of Pittsburgh converted into a concert hall. This was either Gods way of luring me in, to finally take me out with that bolt of lightning everyone says I am due or my prayers were being answered for the best church ever. Travelling from Baltimore to Pitt I didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t familiar with the venue or what the rules on lining up early would be. Upon seeing the venue from the outside it I was surprised at how small it was.  I am used to the guys selling out 1600+ capacity venues so I was glad I decided to get there early. Being first in line made it easy to meet other fans as they approached the entrance.  Sharing stories on what songs we like best live, how the band has touched us all in some way, and the ever present one up man ship of, well I have seen them X-amount of times, helps pass away the day. Shortly before sound check we got our first glimpse of the guys with drummer Jeremy popping out of the bus to enjoy some sunshine and a cup of coffee.  Always the humble one Ryan gives a quick hello as multiple people congratulate him on the expected arrival of his twins, stating he had nothing to do with it, “It was all my beautiful wife’s doing!”  The rest of the afternoon was a blur of activity with loading in equipment, hey how are yins (it’s a Pittsburgh thing), and the occasional appearance of the band.

Prior to the Meet and Greet starting, tour manager Alan came out to go over the rules. “No cameras, video recording devices, cell phones will be aloud during sound check. The band will do two songs then you will all line up for autographs and a chance to say hello. From there you will reline up for your photo op! The better everyone understands the more time the guys have to spend with you before the show.”  The buzz amongst the concert goers was electric at this point. The moment was upon us and into the holy sanctuary we went.

bc2

Did I mention yet the venue was small?  With a capacity of 650 people the inside of the venue was very intimate. With stained glass windows around the balcony giving way to some of the most beautiful natural light to fill the dance floor, we lined up along the rail in anticipation.  To my surprise there was absolutely no room for a photo pit and I was in a bit of a panic on how I was going to get photos for my review, especially since the three song rule still applied (pretty standard to only shoot the 1st three songs at most venues) I didn’t want to have my camera right in the bands face. Thankfully Justin was able to reassure me by stating “This place is a pretty f&*king weird place to play. I don’t think we’ve played in a church before.  You guys are really close and I must warn you now I have a bit of a virus going around my tour bus and was violently vomiting last night after the show.  Being this close please don’t freak out but if the need arises I may have to puke on everyone in the front row! But since we are all friends here it’s cool right?” followed by his best Oh God I Am Going Too Puke Face. (Since no photos were allowed please imagine Justin’s devilish grin and insert laugh track here. Thanks!)

To kick off sound check Blue October went into an instrumental version of Say It from their 2009 album Approaching Normal.  Power chord crunch, and booming bass and snare filled the room. The crowd rocked back and forth as the guys warmed us up.  Finishing the song with a Jimmy Fallon-esque lip sync of their own song, eliciting a few laughs from the crowd.  Later in the evening Justin mentions that his favorite song off the new album is Not Broken Anymore because it was the first song he was able to write while being completely sober. If I didn’t hear it directly from his mouth I would’ve disagreed for the fact that as he went into the title track Sway for the 2nd sound check song, I was close enough to see the goose bumps rise on his arms as he was transported to whatever place he goes to feed off the emotion he has when singing this song.

Now if you have seen any of the shows on this leg of the tour you may have noticed it has been pretty close to the same set each evening. Yet it never disappointed anyone.  The songs may have been the same but the crowd created the moment. The more the crowd sang favorites such as She’s My Ride Home, and the new crowd favorite Light You Up, the more Justin and company reacted. At times Justin was practically sitting in the front row, planted on a monitor taking in the view of all 600+ singing back to him.  At one point I even noticed bassist Matt Noveskey sharing a smile with someone in the audience while looking around the room.  Halfway through the show Justin stopped to thank everyone in attendance for making it possible to do what he does. Stating that even at his lowest we the fans have stood behind him the entire time and dedicated the song Fear encouraging everyone that no matter how hard life can be we can always get back up!

I have to admit that I have seen Blue October seven times now,(8 & 9 will be this fall since I have purchased presale tix prior to writing this) and every time has been better than the last. There are a lot of bands that I have on my bucket list to see, some band that are up and comers and a few that have been around for a while, and I get asked why I keep spending money to see the same band over and over.  There isn’t an answer that can truly justify what happens at a Blue October show. The emotional roller coaster of every one of life’s ups and downs. The things you are happy to relive and others you may wish remained buried come to the surface with brutal honesty, subtle romance, in your face riffs, punchy bass lines beautiful piano and violin, and the occasional screaming guitar.  There is no one category that Blue October can be placed in. With the influences of jazz, hip hop, rock and classical there is something for all music lovers. But for the true fan, there is comfort in knowing there are people like you in the world. People searching to belong to something special, someone willing to listen when you need to scream, when you have the need to cry, when you need to share good news, or when you just need Family! Blue October has two shows left on the spring leg of the tour and I hope everyone in attendance enjoys as much as I did. Here is looking forward to and planning to attend the fall shows and may whatever roads you take to get there see you safe and Not Broken Anymore!

bc

 

This was a special feature by our guest contributor, Mark Iman, MarkImanConcertReview.blogspot.com.

We had the pleasure of catching Blue October in April as the SWAY tour made it’s way through Northern California. You can check out coverage here: http://wp.me/p2bPEi-3QN.   ~ Marisol

Information & Links:

 

Previous Posts:

Leave a comment