Posts Tagged ‘Rasta’

 

hed

We are excited to tell you that our favorite rasta metal band, (Hed)p.e. have announced more tour dates! Metal, Rasta, Punk infused heavyweights (Hed)p.e. are announcing new U.S. tour dates this November as well as in December with Nonpoint. The dates with Nonpoint begin on December 4th in Cleveland, OH. A list of confirmed dates can be seen below.

Thu 20 Nov Eau Claire, WI Hipps Pub
Fri 21 Nov Lombard, IL Brauer House
Sat 22 Nov Janesville, WI Back Bar
Sun 23 Nov Mishawka, IN Smith’s Downtown
Tue 25 Nov Chesterfield, MI Diesel Concert Lounge
Wed 26 Nov Dayton, OH Oddbody’s PSYCHOSTICK support
Fri 28 Nov New York, NY Blackthorne PSYCHOSTICK support
Sat 29 Nov Poughkeepsie, NY The Chance PSYCHOSTICK support
Sun 30 Nov Baltimore, MD Fishhead Cantina DOPE / PSYCHOSTICK=SUPPORT
Tue 02 Dec Virginia Beach, VA Shakus PSYCHOSTICK support
Wed 03 Dec Winchester, VA Blue Fox Billiards PSYCHOSTICK support
Thu 04 Dec Cleveland, OH Agora Ballroom NONPOINT/ HED PE
Fri 05 Dec Rochester, NY Montage Music Hall NONPOINT/ HED PE
Sat 06 Dec Worcester, MA Paladium NONPOINT/ HED PE
Sun 07 Dec Portland, ME Asylum NONPOINT/ HED PE
Tue 09 Dec Richmond, VA Canal Club NONPOINT/ HED PE
Wed 10 Dec Morgantown, WV Schmitt’s Saloon NONPOINT/ HED PE
Fri 12 Dec Traverse City, MI Ground Zero NONPOINT/ HED PE
Sat 13 Dec Flint, MI Machine Shop NONPOINT/ HED PE
Sun 14 Dec Beckley, WV Munchez NONPOINT/ HED PE
Mon 15 Dec Atlanta, GA Masquerade NONPOINT/ HED PE
Wed 17 Dec Clarksville, TN The Warehouse NONPOINT/ HED PE
Thu 18 Dec St Louis, MO Mad Magician NONPOINT/ HED PE
Fri 19 Dec Springfield, IL Boondocks NONPOINT/ HED PE
Sat 20 Dec Columbus, OH Al Rosa Villa HED PE/ NONPOINT
Sun 21 Dec Steger, IL Another Hole In The Wall

Make sure to check the dates and see if they will be coming to a venue near you!  The band’s 9th studio album aptly titled “Evolution” released earlier this year and garnered a lot of well deserved praise and attention.  In case you missed it, check our interview with guitarist, Jackson Benge when they made a stop in San Francisco at the DNA Lounge:

 

You can also check out a slideshow of Rockin Ryan’s photos from their set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Make sure to visit their social media sites so you can stay up to date on their latest news. I will leave you with some videos of their set at the DNA Lounge.

~ Marisol

Information & Links:

 

 

 

 

 

 

JACKSON-1

We recently brought you our coverage from the Born To Ride 2 Tour with SOiL and (hed) P.E.   Both bands were amazing and make sure you check out all our coverage on them.  (hed) P.E.  is really one of the most energetic bands out there today. If you asked five different people what type of music  (hed) P.E. is, you just might end up with five very different answers. There is something so special about this band because making the music they want to hear and making what feels right is exactly what they do. They do not try and re-invent themselves or make carbon copy sound alike albums. Their creativity shines through each of their varied styles of music through songs. The styles may range from rasta, punk, reggae, soul, rap, rock, metal, and so much more. One thing is for sure, their music is definitely one that is deserving of your attention.

Their set was intense as the audience was literally in a non stop mosh pit from start to finish. What a great night! We had the opportunity to chat with guitarist, Jackson Benge before their set and are pleased to bring you that interview here:

 

You can also check out a slideshow of Rockin Ryan’s photos from their set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are still a couple dates left on the Born To Ride 2 Tour and they have just announced a whole new slew of tour dates, check out their tour dates for a complete list.

(Hed)P.E.’s forthcoming album “Evolution” is currently being mixed and is slated for a summer 2014 release on Pavement Entertainment. This is the follow up to 2010’s “Truth Rising”. According to vocalist Jahred, the album will be “Some of the heaviest material we have ever recorded”.  We are looking forward to the new album and can’t wait for them to return to San Francisco!

Make sure to visit their social media sites so you can stay up to date on their latest news. I will leave you with some videos of their set at the DNA Lounge.

~ Marisol

Information & Links:

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3773

On Friday, we went to cover the Born To Ride 2 Tour with SOiL and (hed) P.E. .SOiL put on an amazing solid set and you can read about that here. Then it was time for  (hed) P.E. and I was excited since was the first time for me to see them in their 20 year band history!  Yes, it is hard for me to even believe that I never had the chance to catch them live until now. Especially since after watching them, I was just calculating how many times I could have seen them before.

They are really one of the most energetic bands out there today. If you asked five different people what type of music  (hed) P.E. is, you just might end up with five very different answers. There is something so special about this band because making the music they want to hear and making what feels right is exactly what they do. They do not try and re-invent themselves or make carbon copy sound alike albums. Their creativity shines through each of their varied styles of music through songs. The styles may range from rasta, punk, reggae, soul, rap, rock, metal, and so much more. One thing is for sure, their music is definitely one that is deserving of your attention.

Their set was intense as the audience was literally in a non stop mosh pit from start to finish. We talked to several in the crowd and there were not only their die hard fans but many new fans, who had never seen them before but said they felt like they were right at home. Singer Jahred has a charismatic personality and his infectious groove has you moving instantly. Jackson on guitar is a beast and he can bust out any style of music with precision and finesse and completely have the music take control of him. Mawk on bass keeps the groove going the whole night without missing a beat. Then you have Trauma, the most animated and lovable character of the band (don’t worry guys, we love you all tremendously!). Watching Trauma pound on the drums is a show in itself, his expressions are priceless and fit each song so well.  Check out a slideshow of Rockin Ryan’s photos from their set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

It was great to watch them and I really look forward to the next time they are coming in to town. We had the chance to talk with Jackson before his set and here is that interview:

 

There are still a couple dates left on the Born To Ride 2 Tour so check the dates and get yourself to a show. Also, they have just announced a whole new slew of tour dates, check our list below.

BTR2

  • Columbia, MO Blue Note – Wed 09 Jul
  • Oklahoma City, OK The Chameleon Room – Thu 10 Jul
  • Houston, TX Scout Bar – Fri 11 Jul
  • San Antonio, TX Backstage Live – Sat 12 Jul
  • Dallas, TX Trees – Sun 13 Jul
  • Destin, FL Club LA – Tue 15 Jul
  • Orlando, FL Bombshell’s Tavern – Wed 16 Jul
  • St Petersberg, FL State Theater – Thu 17 Jul
  • Jacksonville, FL Underbelly – Fri 18 Jul
  • Knoxville, TN The Concourse – Sun 20 Jul
  • Beckley, WV Muncheez – Tue 22 Jul
  • Thornville, OH Gathering Of Juggalos – Wed 23 Jul
  • Sauget, IL Pop’s – Fri 01 Aug
  • Lawrence, KS Granada Theater – Sat 02 Aug
  • Omaha, NE Sokol Auditorium – Sun 03 Aug
  • Des Moines, IA Wooly’s – Mon 04 Aug
  • Ringle, WI Q & Z Expo Center Tue 05 Aug
  • Turtle Lake, WI St Croix Casino – Wed 06 Aug
  • Foud Du Lac, WI The Shack Event Center – Thu 07 Aug
  • Kokomo, IN Centerstage – Fri 08 Aug
  • Birch Run, MI Dirt Fest @ Birch Run Expo Center – Sat 09 Aug
  • Mishawka, IN Smith’s Downtown – Sun 10 Aug
  • Pittsburgh, PA Altar Bar – Tue 12 Aug
  • Rochester, NY Main Street Armoury – Wed 13 Aug
  • Poughkeepsie, NY The Chance – Thu 14 Aug
  • Hartford, CT Webster Theater – Fri 15 Aug
  • Worcester, MA Paladium – Sat 16 Aug
  • Portland, ME Asylum – Sun 17 Aug
  • Patchogue, NY The Emporium – Wed 20 Aug
  • New York, NY BB Kings – Thu 21 Aug
  • Hagerstown, MD Hard Time Café – Fri 22 Aug
  • Columbus, OH Al Rosa Villa – Sat 23 Aug
  • Jacksonville, NC Hooligan’s – Wed 27 Aug
  • Winston-Salem, NC Ziggy’s – Thu 28 Aug
  • Newport, KY Thompon House – Fri 29 Aug
  • Grand Rapids, MI The Stache @ The Intersection – Sat 30 Aug

 

(Hed)P.E.’s forthcoming album “Evolution” is currently being mixed and is slated for a summer 2014 release on Pavement Entertainment. This is the follow up to 2010’s “Truth Rising”. According to vocalist Jahred, the album will be “Some of the heaviest material we have ever recorded”.  We are looking forward to the new album and can’t wait for them to return to San Francisco!

Make sure to visit their social media sites so you can stay up to date on their latest news.

~ Marisol

Information & Links:

Soil hed europe tour
Due to the overwhelming response to the European leg of the SOiL tour with special guests American Headcharge and (hed)P.E., the line up will continue on in the UK for the following dates. Opener 8 Foot Sativa will be on all dates as well.  Tickets will sell out fast so get yours now!



Sun 19 Oct    Southampton, ENGLAND      1865
Tue 21 Oct    London, ENGLAND              Electric Ballroom
Wed 22 Oct    York, ENGLAND                      Fibbers
Thu 23 Oct    Glasgow, SCOTLAND              The Garage
Fri 24 Oct            Sheffield, ENGLAND              Corporation
Sat 25 Oct    Manchester, ENGLAND      Club Academy
Sun 26 Oct    Chester, ENGLAND              Live Rooms
Tue 28 Oct    Weymouth, ENGLAND      Pavillion
Wed 29 Oct    Bristol, ENGLAND              Bierkeller
Thu 30 Oct    Wolverhampton, ENGLAND    Slade Rooms
Fri 31 Oct            Reading, ENGLAND               Sub 89
Sat 01 Nov    Nottingham, ENGLAND        Rescue Room

Stay tuned as well, because we are heading out to the DNA Lounge tonight for (hed) P.E. and SOiL out on the Born To Ride 2 tour.  The tour began on May 1st at the HOME Bar in Arlington, IL and will wrap up at the end of May. This tour is the follow up to the first Born To Ride tour featuring the same bands.

BTR2

(Hed)P.E.’s forthcoming album “Evolution” is currently being mixed and is slated for a summer 2014 release on Pavement Entertainment. This is the follow up to 2010’s “Truth Rising”. According to vocalist Jahred, the album will be “Some of the heaviest material we have ever recorded”.  Their label mates, SOiL is currently supporting their new single “The Hate Song” which comes from the critically acclaimed new album “Whole”.

This is one tour that you don’t want to miss. We caught SOiL at the Aftershock Sacramento Festival last year and they were amazing as always. I can’t wait to see them perform their new single, “The Hate Song” which has some of my favorite lyrics in a song – “I wrote this love song to let you know I hate you” I have never seen (hed) P.E. but I have always wanted to. Their rasta punk infused metal signature sound has been one that I have been drawn to for a while.  

So make sure to check the dates and come to a show. Maybe we will see you tonight in San Francisco!

~ Marisol

Information & Links:

BTR2

Get your calendars ready and save the date in May for you to catch (hed) P.E. and SOiL out on the Born To Ride 2 tour.  The tour is set to start on May 1st at the HOME Bar in Arlington, IL and will wrap up at the end of May. This tour is the follow up to the first Born To Ride tour featuring the same bands.

 

(Hed)P.E.’s forthcoming album “Evolution” is currently being mixed and is slated for a summer 2014 release on Pavement Entertainment. This is the follow up to 2010’s “Truth Rising”. According to vocalist Jahred, the album will be “Some of the heaviest material we have ever recorded”.  Their label mates, SOiL is currently supporting their new single “The Hate Song” which comes from the critically acclaimed new album “Whole”.

This is one tour that you don’t want to miss. We caught SOiL at the Aftershock Sacramento Festival last year and they were amazing as always. I can’t wait to see them perform their new single, “The Hate Song” which has some of my favorite lyrics in a song – “I wrote this love song to let you know I hate you” I have never seen (hed) P.E. but I have always wanted to. Their rasta punk infused metal signature sound has been one that I have been drawn to for a while.  Here are the tour dates:

  • 1 Arlington Heights, IL     HOME bar
  • 2 Waterloo, IA                  Reverb Rock Garden
  • 4 Denver, CO                   Summit Theatre
  • 7 Los Angeles, CA           Whiskey A Go Go
  • 8 Pomona, CA                 The Glass House
  • 9 Las Vegas, NV              LVCS
  • 10 Tempe, AZ                 The Marquee
  • 11 Ramona, CA               Ramona Mainstage
  • 13 Long Beach, CA         Gaslamp
  • 14 Fresno, CA                 Strummer’s
  • 16 San Francisco, CA      DNA
  • 17 Sacramento, CA         Ace Of Spades
  • 18 Reno, NV                    Knitting Factory
  • 20 Spokane, WA              Knitting Factory
  • 21 Seattle, WA                 Studio Seven
  • 22 Portland, OR               Hawthorne Theatre
  • 24 Salt Lake City, UT         In The Venue
  • 25 Colorado Springs, CO   Black Sheep
  • 30 Oklahoma City, OK       The Chameleon Room (SOiL Only)
  • 31 Kansas City, MO           Kansas City Rockfest (SOiL Only)

So make sure to mark your calendars and come to a show. Maybe we will see you at the San Francisco or Sacramento shows!

~ Marisol

Information & Links: